Meal Prep is the NEW Fast Food

59986.jpg

In my journey, I have thought about prepping meals. And for the most part I think about what I want to eat the next day, but I have never really meal prepped before. I would say that today’s prepping is very basic. Today I prepped things for breakfast and lunch for the week. My snacks are always the same, fruit (clementines these days) and veggies (usually at least 2 greens) with hummus. With this new prepping experience came two NEW recipes, which I am planning to share with you!

One-Pot Cabbage Casserole

This recipe was modified (minimally) from the following site: Diary of a Recipe Collector – One-Pot Cabbage Casserole

Here is what you need:

  • 1 lb lean ground turkey (I would have done 2 lbs, but didn’t buy enough)
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • Himalayan salt and pepper (to taste)
  • 1 cup brown rice, uncooked
  • Half a medium sized cabbage, chopped
  • 14 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 2 cups of water
  • 28 oz. can diced tomatoes, undrained

Here is what I did:

  1. Cook beef and turkey. Add in clove of garlic (minced). Add himalayan salt and pepper.
  2. Once meat is cooked, I added rice, cabbage, tomato sauce, 2 cups of water  and diced tomatoes. Stir.
  3. Let it come to a boil and then reduce heat to medium low and cover to simmer for about 20 to 30 minutes or until rice is done and cabbage is soft. Do not lift lid before 20 minutes to make sure rice cooks well.
  4. Enjoy!

 

PicCollage1.jpg

My other recipe is for my breakfasts. This recipe makes 3 servings. I am really excited as it was the first time I ever used Chia Seeds!

Vegan Overnight Oats

Here is what you need:

  • 1 large banana, mashed
  • 2 tablespoons of chia seeds (I got white seeds, but who knew there were different kinds??)
  • 1/4 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup of almond milk (a friend used regular milk, and this works too)
  • 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 1/4 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract (optional)

Here’s what I did:

  1. In a small bowl, mash the banana until almost smooth.
  2. Stir in chia seeds and cinnamon.
  3. Stir in the oats, almond milk and vanilla (if using).
  4. Cover and refrigerate over night (or for a minimum of 2 hours)
  5. Stir then enjoy!

If your overnight oats have a runny consistency, simply add an additional tablespoon of chia seeds and place the mixture back in the fridge to thicken up. If the mixture is too thick, simply add a splash of milk, stir combine.

PicCollagePossible Toppings (in case you want to add some flavour to the mixture)

  • granola
  • fresh fruit
  • coconut flakes
  • pure maple syrup
  • cinnamon
  • nuts and seeds

I sneaked a quick taste and it is sweeter than I thought. I added the pure vanilla extract, which I think helps with the sweetness. I was worried about this, as I have never had chia seeds before, but there was nothing wrong with the texture.

This can be enjoyed cold, or heated up to your liking. I am so excited for breakfast tomorrow!!

Here is hoping that my week will be off to a better start! Being planned will help make my mornings quicker!! MEAL PREP IS THE NEW FAST FOOD!! My Motto!!

Until Next Time…

p.s. I did Chisel Balance – thinking it was like 21 Day Fix Yoga — I was very wrong. But loved it!!

p.p.s. I also benched 70 lbs! I feel super strong! I think I impressed my husband (I don’t usually do this sort of workout, but my husband had, and I was seeing what I was capable of; he was supportive. At first I did 5, and I said, “Okay, I think I am good.” He said, “I think you can do more.” I DID 10 REPS! woo hoo!)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

